Techie question - help with Firefox

For all the conversation that has nothing to do with anything!
AnnieM
A real, live woman!
A real, live woman!
Posts: 752
Joined: 13 Oct 2008 15:34

Techie question - help with Firefox

Postby AnnieM » 23 Mar 2009 15:34

just thought someone here might be able to help...

I use Firefox as my browser -

up until today if i typed something in the long box at the top of the screen it would come either go straight to the website (ie if I typed in Blood for the Baron it would come here without me needing to type in the full address) or it would come up with search results

now, after downloading a free piece of software that's totally unconnected, if I type in something in that top box it just comes up with suggestions from Ask.com, which is utter knickers.

Apparently when I downloaded the free software I agreed to use Ask.com as my default search engine. I can't unset it!

How do I get it to stop going straight to Ask.com? I've tried deleting Ask.com from the list of browsers on the little box on the top right hand side of the screen, but it doesn't stop going there.

Please, if this makes any sense, can someone help me. It is driving me doolally.

Many thanks

yours sincerely

AnnieM (aged 30 and a half)
On touching the trig point, I found my thrill
To the east Brokeback Mountain, to the west, Benny Hill
I'll give you the grid ref, you might like to go
SO224350
User avatar
Double-Tap
who dares grins
who dares grins
Posts: 3166
Joined: 03 Aug 2008 16:42

Re: Techie question - help with Firefox

Postby Double-Tap » 23 Mar 2009 15:53

i've had this problem as well.
you may need to delete the whole software package.
this is the problem with free software when you have to agree to certain conditions.
if you access the control panel then go to add/remove programs and delete your new download.
hope this helps.
Bill
Image
Lady Jaye
What? A swallow carrying a coconut?
What? A swallow carrying a coconut?
Posts: 2422
Joined: 25 Jun 2004 22:54

Re: Techie question - help with Firefox

Postby Lady Jaye » 23 Mar 2009 15:57

Nothing in the world comes for free!

Clearly addware. My suggestion would be: deinstall the 'free' software, then run SpyBot S&D to remove the rest of the infestation.

If you really want to keep the software you might need to accept the change in browser. Some software do not work if you don't accept the policy.

Best regards,
Niels, aged 37 and a couple of months
AnnieM
A real, live woman!
A real, live woman!
Posts: 752
Joined: 13 Oct 2008 15:34

Re: Techie question - help with Firefox

Postby AnnieM » 23 Mar 2009 16:00

the software was crap - already removed it.

i'll run Spybot now

cheers guys :)
On touching the trig point, I found my thrill
To the east Brokeback Mountain, to the west, Benny Hill
I'll give you the grid ref, you might like to go
SO224350
AnnieM
A real, live woman!
A real, live woman!
Posts: 752
Joined: 13 Oct 2008 15:34

Re: Techie question - help with Firefox

Postby AnnieM » 23 Mar 2009 16:52

ended up reinstalling Firefox - all ok now

I'll be more careful with free programs in the future I think!

I've never used Ask.com before. It's truly terrible.
On touching the trig point, I found my thrill
To the east Brokeback Mountain, to the west, Benny Hill
I'll give you the grid ref, you might like to go
SO224350
User avatar
The Baron
World Enemy No. 1
World Enemy No. 1
Posts: 14671
Joined: 18 Sep 2012 05:10
Location: Secret HQ

Re: Techie question - help with Firefox

Postby The Baron » 23 Mar 2009 18:11

Ah too late now, but you probably could have solved it using Tools > Options > Manage Add-ons.
AnnieM
A real, live woman!
A real, live woman!
Posts: 752
Joined: 13 Oct 2008 15:34

Re: Techie question - help with Firefox

Postby AnnieM » 23 Mar 2009 18:23

cheers Baron, I had removed it from add-ons but it wouldn't bloody piss off.
On touching the trig point, I found my thrill
To the east Brokeback Mountain, to the west, Benny Hill
I'll give you the grid ref, you might like to go
SO224350
User avatar
The Baron
World Enemy No. 1
World Enemy No. 1
Posts: 14671
Joined: 18 Sep 2012 05:10
Location: Secret HQ

Re: Techie question - help with Firefox

Postby The Baron » 23 Mar 2009 18:30

Eek. I'll keep an eye out for it. Can I ask what the free software was? Golden rule is to never install any optional toolbars / taskbars / live update components.

I'd also suggest you hit "Run..." and type in "msconfig" - then go to the "Startup" tab and check for anything nasty lurking there. You can also check the "Services" tab, but be sure to tick "Hide all Microsoft services" first to shorten the list.
User avatar
Chopper
This is what you get when you mess with the SAS
This is what you get when you mess with the SAS
Posts: 7217
Joined: 09 Apr 2003 08:30
Location: Melbourne

Re: Techie question - help with Firefox

Postby Chopper » 24 Mar 2009 00:22

100% agreed Baron. If it sounds too good to be true, it usually is. Hijackers are the meat of my income these days.

:chopper:
User avatar
Shadow_Contact
Sergeant
Sergeant
Posts: 232
Joined: 10 Sep 2008 08:41
Location: Bend, Oregon U.S.A.

Re: Techie question - help with Firefox

Postby Shadow_Contact » 24 Mar 2009 05:59

Chopper wrote: Hijackers are the meat of my income these days.

:chopper:
Totally agree. Hijackers if ground properly make damn nice Burgers too.
Who Are You? What Do You Want? Why Are You Here? Where Are You Going? - The Four Ideologies from Babylon 5

I'm commenting on the internet, Facts hold no sway with me.

Image

Return to “Chat”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest